Eat, Pray, Love Book Review

Book: Eat, Pray, Love

Release date: January 30, 2007
 Pages: 334
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Source: Bought from Library Sale

Summary: In her early thirties, Elizabeth Gilbert had everything a modern American woman was supposed to want—husband, country home, successful career—but instead of feeling happy and fulfilled, she was consumed by panic and confusion. This wise and rapturous book is the story of how she left behind all these outward marks of success, and set out to explore three different aspects of her nature, against the backdrop of three different cultures: pleasure in Italy, devotion in India, and on the Indonesian island of Bali, a balance between worldly enjoyment and divine transcendence. 

*****
 My Thoughts: This book was definitely something I was scared to read because of the mixed reviews, but I ended up liking it. It’s not a book I would pick up to read for fun because it does talk more about life lessons, finding balance within yourself, and spiritual journeys. I found Elizabeth Gilbert did a good job balancing the ideas in her book as well as the content. It wasn’t all historical facts, or all about the physical journey. She combined her methods in a way that the reader got snippets of history, and culture, and got to learn more about who Elizabeth is as a person. The book itself isn’t very long, but it took me a week or two to read it because it was dense with information. My most favorite part about this book were all the characters that Gilbert interacted with along her journey. She explained each and every character in a way that by the end of reading it I feel like I had a great understanding of who was who and what their impact was on Gilbert’s life. This book also made me question where I currently am in my life mentally and physically and what I can do to make myself feel even better. Overall, I rated this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.
Writing: 8/10
Characters: 8/10
Plot: 7/10
Ending: 8/10
Originality: 7/10
Overall: 38/50
Cover: 7/10

Leave a comment