The Mountains Between Us Book Review

Book: The Mountains Between Us

Release date: August 15, 2017
 Pages: 336
Publisher: Broadway Books
Source: Blogging for Books

Summary: When a blizzard strands them in Salt Lake City, two strangers agree to charter a plane together, hoping to return home; Ben Payne is a gifted surgeon returning from a conference, and Ashley Knox, a magazine writer, is en route to her wedding. But when unthinkable tragedy strikes, the pair find themselves stranded in Utah’s most remote wilderness in the dead of winter, badly injured and miles from civilization. Without food or shelter, and only Ben’s mountain climbing gear to protect themselves, Ashley and Ben’s chances for survival look bleak, but their reliance on each other sparks an immediate connection, which soon evolves into something more.

*****
 My Thoughts: I really wanted to enjoy this book because I thought the plot was interesting and I’m a fan of survival type books, even though they can be cliche at times. I found myself really struggling to get through this book and I’m not sure if it was the writing style that wasn’t captivating or that I didn’t agree with the characters’ thoughts. It might have been my inability to relate and emphasis with the characters, but I wished I enjoyed the book more than I did. The beginning was quite touching and my favorite character ended up being the helicopter pilot. Overall, it wasn’t a bad story or book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.
Thank you to Blogging for Books for sending me a copy of this book.
Writing: 7/10
Characters: 8/10
Plot: 7/10
Ending: 7/10
Originality: 5/10
Overall: 34/50
Cover: 5/10

Leave a comment