Make A Choice Book Review

Book: Make A Choice

Release date: June 7, 2016
 Pages: 144
Publisher: Ensign Peak
Source: Review Copy

Summary: Jeff Benedict has seen both good and bad in his career as a journalist. Some of the best are the extraordinary people he has met who have made deliberate choices to live happier lives despite the extreme hardship that each of them have faced. Although life will knock us down from time to time, this book is an important reminder that we all can make a choice to get back up, brush ourselves off, and keep pressing forward.

Replace anger with forgiveness through studying the real-life examples of seven inspiring mentors.

Avoid discouragement by purposefully recognizing God’s hand in your life.

Diminish the heartache from tragedy through the concentrated act of serving others.

Gain insights from parents who were deliberate in safeguarding their children against harmful influences.

Stand strong through life’s adversity through the examples of powerful prayer.

*****
 My Thoughts: This book was very moving and enticing. I loved all the messages it shared, and as someone who has strong faith in my own religion, these stories really strengthened my beliefs. There was so much sadness, hatred, and sorrow, but none of that was ever shown by any of the people in their stories, and it really surprised and encouraged me to look at situations in a different light. I’m really glad I had the chance to read this book. I think I really needed to hear some of the words and stories to get me out of that teenage mind set that I tend to be stuck in. I did think it was a lot to read at once. Too much sadness is a little overwhemling, so I would recommend reading it in multiple sittings, but other than that, it was a very eye opening book to me.
Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy!
Writing: 7/10
Characters: 7/10
Plot: 8/10
Ending: 8/10
Originality: 8/10
Overall: 38/50
Leave a Reply

