A Beauty Refined Book Review

Book: A Beauty Refined

Release date: July 5, 2016
 Pages: 320
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Source: Review Copy from Publisher

Summary: Phoebe Von Bergen is excited to accompany her father when he travels from Germany to purchase sapphires in Montana. Little does she know that her father’s plans–for the gemstones and his daughter–are not what they seem.
Ian Harper, a lapidary working in Helena, finds the young woman staying at the Broadwater Hotel more than a little intriguing. Yet the more he gets to know her, the more he realizes that her family story is based on a lie–a lie she has no knowledge of. And Ian believes he knows the only path that will lead her to freedom.

Meeting Ian has changed everything. Phoebe is determined to stay in America, regardless of her father’s plans. But she may not be prepared for the unexpected danger as the deception begins to unravel.

*****
 My Thoughts:This book caught my attention from the Synopsis. It was a little vague, so I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into, but I loved almost every minute of it! My favorite part about this book was probably how shocking the plot itself was. One of the major points Phoebe finds out sets this whole book in motion, and I loved watching Phoebe grow as a character and woman as she continued to face obstacles in this book. The undertones of serious issues I think were dealt in the correct way in this book, and although there was romance in the book, it did not overshadow the bigger concepts and ideas that the book was trying to get across Something that was a personal preference for me that I did not quite enjoy was that this book did have Christian heavy characters, so there were lines from the Bible, church, and praying. I’m not a Christian, so I don’t believe in some of the things mentioned, but I still got the chance to enjoy the story. The concept of this book was quite a different approach as to showing the big ideas, because the plot was something very original. Usually the main characters are not diamond carvers and take take place in Montana, and that’s just another thing that made it unique and enjoyable to read. I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads!
Thanks to Bethany House Publishers  for sending me this book, I appreciate it!
Writing: 9/10
Characters: 9/10
Plot: 9/10
Ending: 8/10
Originality: 8/10
Overall: 43/50
Cover: 7/10
Leave a Reply

