The Changing Season Book Review

Book: The Changing Season

Release date: November 17, 2015
 Pages: 288
Publisher: The Story Plant
Source: Publisher – Review Copy

Summary: This was supposed to be a simple summer for Billy; one more lazy expanse of time before college began. He’d fill the hours playing with Jimmy – his canine best buddy – going camping and doing all the things he promised Jimmy they’d do before Billy left.

But that was before the accident that shook the entire town.

It was before the summer job that turned into something so much more than a way to get a paycheck.

And it was before Vicki.

This summer was destined to be many things to Billy, things he didn’t truly understand until now. But it was definitely not going to be simple.

 

*****
 My Thoughts: I flew through this book. The writing was nice and sweet, direct and to the point. I enjoyed the different characters in the book, as well as getting to know them thoroughly. All of them had their own stories, and they were revealed as the book unfolded. Of course my favorite parts were any parts with Jimmy, Billy’s dog. I loved how realistic and raw the experiences and thought processes of the main character, mainly, but the others as well, were. As a teenager myself, I could relate to the feelings and situations of helplessness that everyone feels from time to time in their life. It was comforting in the sense that even though everything didn’t turn out perfect, and the way a fairy tale is, this book taught lessons, and opened my eyes up to all the possibilities life holds, as well as how to face and conquer certain problems in life. As a whole, there were always different sections of the main character, Billy’s, life that the reader had a chance to see. There was the Billy when he was with his friends, or his mom, or dad. It really varied upon person, and in myself, as I read, I found a Billy in me too. I did give this book a 4 out of 5 stars only because it didn’t wow me. I think the big thing that I wasn’t a fan of was how long the chapters were. When I was really into the book, it didn’t bother me too much. I am that person though who likes to look at how many pages are left in a chapter, and I felt like there were just not enough chapters. Other than that minor detail, this book really was one that was heartfelt and made me feel giddy inside reading it. I hope you guys have the chance to pick it up!
I would like to thank The Story Plant for sending me a copy of this book, it is highly appreciated!
Writing: 8/10
Characters: 9/10
Plot: 8/10
Ending: 9/10
Originality: 9/10
Overall: 44/50
Cover: 10/10
Leave a Reply

