Dogs of India Book Review

Book: Dogs of India

Release date: November 22, 2015
 Pages: 192
Publisher: The Author People
Source: Review Copy from Publisher
Summary:
 Revenge. A dish best served cold. Or if you’re Sydney native Lola Wedd, with a broken heart and a life in chaos, a dish served up by heading to India to marry a total stranger as part of an international visa scam.

Lola naïvely thought she would ‘find herself’ in India. Instead she is enmeshed in a drama worthy of Bollywood, starring an abandoned Pariah dog, a dead civil servant, a vengeful actor, a suicidal housewife, a boutique hotel owner, a blushing chauffer, an absent groom, an ambitious girl journalist and a megalomaniac monkey.

As Lola begins to understand the consequences of her choices, she ignites a series of events that lead to a Diwali Festival more explosive than anyone in New Delhi could have imagined.

 

*****
 My Thoughts: First off I want to say this book took me a month to finish, and I’m not sure if it was just intimidating, or it was because I was reading books for class, and I couldn’t enjoy it as much for that reason. However, I did really like the concept of the book. Being from India myself, I knew the Hindi words that were used, and how to pronounce characters’ names. The story line itself was very original. It was a mix of different things, and had all types of perspectives, which made it more interesting to read. It wasn’t a very long book either, so it shouldn’t take too long to read, but again, for me it did. I think my favorite plot line, since there were multiple, was the ones told in the perspective of the dogs. The writing of the book was for the most part easy enough to read. It came off a little bit choppy, and stretched out to me, but overall, it wasn’t bad. I appreciated some of the subjects this book touched on, such as women’s rights. It stuck very close to realistic situations that do happened in a country like this. I did have some problems with this book, which made it hard for me to follow through. The switching of perspectives, although nice, did get confusing. One part got left off, and all of a sudden I was in a new perspective. I wish the chapters alternated, or had some type of pattern to it, so I could follow along better. Also, a personal problem, like I mentioned before, I took a really long time to finish this book. I enjoyed its content, but it was difficult for me to want to pick up and continue. As a whole, I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.
I’d like to thank The Author People for sending me this book to review, I highly appreciate it!
Writing: 6/10
Characters: 5/10
Plot: 5/10
Ending: 8/10
Originality: 9/10
Overall: 33/50
Cover: 9/10
Leave a Reply

