Autofocus Book Review – Book Tour

c4fb4d1e-1adf-4621-b09b-13c60edf9a8a

Follow the Tour!

Book: Autofocus

Release date: June 14, 2016
 Pages: 352
Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: E- Book Review Copy
Summary:
 Family. It’s always been a loaded word for Maude, whose birth mother died after giving her up for adoption. With her best friend, Treena, in college in the same town where her birth mother grew up, Maude decides to visit and explore her past. But when Maude arrives, she quickly discovers that Treena doesn’t seem to have time for her—or for helping with her search. Enter Bennett, a cute guy who lives in Treena’s dorm. He understands Maude’s need to find her mother. And as Bennett helps Maude, she starts to realize that her mother’s past doesn’t have to define her own future.
*****
 My Thoughts: I actually wanted to read this book for a while because it sounded really interesting, and it had to do with photography, which I think is pretty neat. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, finishing it in a few days. I think the main character was relatable, and I had a good time going on her journey to uncover her family life. The romance the main character encounters is sweet, and adorable, and kept me smiling the whole time. Treena, being a girl of the same ethnicity as me, I found also someone I shared characteristics and background with, and her character reached almost the amount of depth I wanted from her. I think the whole experience of the book was refreshing, and although it wasn’t a road trip, it took me on a journey to a various amount of places in Tallahassee. Mixed in with the message of finding oneself, this book was quite the coming of age story, for Maude truly experiences what college and growing up is like, and what the effects are on people. Going into college myself soon, I found myself getting excited for college and thrilled to see what adventures await me as well. The ending did give a sense of closure to the story, and I really hoped there was more because I definitely would have read it. Overall, I gave this book a 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, and if you guys want to hear more opinions on this book I’ll leave the link to the Fantastic Flying Book Club below for you to check it out!
Writing: 9/10
Characters: 10/10
Plot: 9/10
Ending: 8/10
Originality: 9/10
Overall: 5/50
Cover: 9/10
Leave a Reply

