Summer’s Last Breath Book Review

Book: Summer’s Last Breath

Release date: May 2, 2015
 Pages: 218
Publisher: Kindle Edition E-book
Source: Free on Kindle
Summary:
One of my dad’s favorite sayings is, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

Well, Jamie Jacobs happened. Jamie was, and always would be, forbidden fruit. Besides being four years older than me, he was the newest recruit of my dad’s experimental team. Jamie was also the experimental part of the team. Meaning he wasn’t exactly human. He was amazingly more than human. What better person to recruit to be on a SEAL-type team than someone who was literally born to be in the water?

Some people go their whole lives and never know love. I knew it at sixteen. While I didn’t know Jamie forever, I knew him long enough that he changed me. He didn’t mean to break my heart. He didn’t mean to crush my dreams, but he did. And if I had it to do all over again, I would. I absolutely would.

This is our story. Because I never want to forget.

 

*****
 My Thoughts: I was looking for a fluffy, summer read, and I found this book for free on my Kindle, so I decided to download it and read it. I liked the concept of the book a lot. It was a little strange at first. It kind of reminded me of Shark Boy from The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl, but I definitely give props on that. It was an okay read for me. It was short, and quick, which didn’t bother me, other than the fact that I felt like there wasn’t enough time for the characters to develop. I liked some of the characters, but I didn’t really get to know them in depth. It was quite superficial, and I find myself a little disappointed. The writing was also something that didn’t wow me, but it was easy to read, so it wasn’t a problem. The part that I disliked the most was the plot sad to say. There really was no gripping or interesting plot. I kept feeling myself wanting more than what was there. I wish the ending didn’t happen the way it did. There were just some parts that really through me off, and although it was a decent and quick read, it was not very enjoyable on my part. It could’ve been because I was reading other books at the time, but I did dedicate a lot of time into this one, so I’m not sure. I wouldn’t exactly recommend this book, but if you wanted to try it out, I’d give it a shot. All in all, an average book, but like I said before, I guess I was looking for a little bit more.
Writing: 7/10
Characters: 7/10
Plot: 5/10
Ending: 5/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 34/50
Cover: 8/10
Leave a Reply

