The Blue Book Review

Book: The Blue

Release date: May 24, 2016
 Pages: 336
Publisher: Touchstone Publishing
Source: Publisher – Review Copy

Summary: In the tradition of Alex Garland’s The Beach, a spine-tingling adventure novel about a group of friends whose journey around the world on a yacht turns from a trip to paradise into a chilling nightmare when one of them disappears at sea.

A group of friends.
A yacht.
And a disappearance-at-sea that turns paradise into a chilling nightmare.

Lana and her best friend Kitty leave home looking for freedom—and that’s exactly what they find when they are invited onto The Blue, a fifty-foot yacht making its way from the Philippines to New Zealand. The crew is made up of a group of young travellers bitten by wanderlust, and it doesn’t take long for Lana and Kitty’s dream of sea-bound romance to turn into reality.

Both women fall under the hypnotic spell of The Blue, spending their days exploring remote islands and their rum-filled nights relaxing on deck beneath the stars. But when one of their friends disappears overboard after an argument with another crewmember, the dark secrets that brought each of them aboard start to unravel.

At turns gorgeously scenic and entirely haunting, The Blue is a page-turning thriller about friendship, freedom and wanting to leave the past behind.

 

*****
 My Thoughts: This book was just something else. All the twists and turns and anxiety I got was so thrilling. It kept me turning the page for one more chapter. The characters that Lucy Clarke developed was so well done that I found myself feeling strong emotions and connections to the crew members, and personally feeling angry, as Lana did. The whole concept and plot of the book was so magical, that even me as a reader fell under the trance of The Blue. When first picking up this book, it seemed more like a harmless adventure, but it’s so much more than that I can assure you. When tensions increase on the boat, and the crew members clash, I was really hoping that they would all work together and solve problems they faced together. Even though the concept was fictional, the emotions were raw, and the characters were portrayed as realistic people. I could relate to their feelings, and I wanted to be apart of this magical world of The Blue. Another aspect of the book I enjoyed is that it was told in two different perspectives: the Then, and the Now. The sequence of events that unfolded were in sync and there was never a moment I was confused about what was happening, because it was explained in the following chapter. Some moments in the plot I was very frustrated with the crew, and personally thought that Lana was the only reasonable one on board. The mystery that Clarke created kept me on my seat until the end, and even in the Now there were major plot twists. I never saw it coming. To close it all off, the ending was definitely something I never expected to happened, and I’m sure it will shock many people. But, you’ll have to read to find out. This book is one I highly recommend, and I personally know, that it will be on my Favorite Books of 2016 list already. What an experience!
I would like to thank Touchstone  for sending me a copy of this book, it is highly appreciated!
Writing: 9/10
Characters: 10/10
Plot: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 49/50
Cover: 8/10
Leave a Reply

