Girls’ Weekend Book Review

Book: Girls’ Weekend

Release date: May 3, 2016
 Pages: 352
Publisher: The Story Plant Publishing
Source: Publisher – Review Copy
Summary:

 

Dani, Meg, and Charlotte have bonded over babies, barbeques, and backyards, but when they escape for a girls weekend away, they can t bring themselves to return to lives that don t seem to fit anymore.Harried Dani can t explain why she feels so discontented until she meets a young gallery owner who inspires her to rediscover the art that once made her happy.

Dependable Meg faces up to a grief that threatens to swallow her whole and confronts a marriage built on expectations.

Flamboyant Charlotte, frustrated with her stagnated life and marriage, pursues a playboy Irish singer and beachside business opportunities.

All three of these women thought they would be different. None of them thought they d be facing down forty and still wondering when life starts. What they do when they realize where they re headed is both inspiring and wildly entertaining.

GIRLS’ WEEKEND is a fun, yet poignant romp through the universal search of who we are, why we love, and what makes us happy by an author who is quickly emerging as one of our most incisive storytellers.

 

*****
 My Thoughts: This book is definitely a hefty, and heavy read, but something that surprised me in so many good ways. When I first read the synopsis, my only concern was that I wouldn’t be able to relate since the female characters were older, but boy was I wrong. The situations they were dealing with, although not exactly like ones I’ve been through, really opened my eyes to what life is really about. It’s this problem I used to have about thinking about school like the same boring day after the other. That’s how these three womens’ lives were, and I admired them for stepping away from that, and adored the journey they went on to find themselves. The writing this author produced was flawless! It was nothing too deep, or too straightforward, and for me that’s exactly what I was looking to read. The characters Meg and Dani warmed my heart because on their way to find themselves they encountered things such as God, or a certain older lady at a bookshop. The best part for me was definitely the change that reflected in the families of these ladies because the husbands and kids really grew up and got self sufficient. It made me really appreciate my mom and my whole family for everything they do for me. The other character Charlotte, I enjoyed her bold and outgoing personality, however some of the decisions she made did not appeal to me, and it kind of irked me. As for the ending, without giving anything away, it’s not the way I thought it would’ve ended, both in a surprising good way and sort of bad. I think that Charlotte’s story was unfinished, and I wanted a little more from that, but as for the others, I was pleased with where things wrapped up. All in all, I would definitely try and pick up this book. I thought about a third of the way through that I might want to get rid of this book because it was difficult for me to get into it and connect, but the more I read, the more my knowledge and appreciation for the book grew, so it was a pleasant surprise!
I would like to thank The Story Plant  for sending me a copy of this book, it is highly appreciated!
Writing: 10/10
Characters: 9/10
Plot: 8/10
Ending: 8/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 45/50
Cover: 8/10
Leave a Reply

