Summer Travel Book Challenge TBR

Hello everyone! Today I bring to you my Summer Travel Book Challenge TBR. The Summer Travel Book Challenge is basically a book challenge I made up for myself to do. I made up 10 questions that have to do with travel, summer, and reading all types of books. This summer I’m going to India for about 2 months, and I thought what better way to spend it than my reading! Without further ado, here is my TBR:

https://lostinabookstore.wordpress.com/2016/05/07/summer-travel-book-challenge/

1.Read a book that takes you on a road trip.

For this challenge, I actually wanted to reread Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matosn, however, I do not own the book, so I decided to reread Paper Towns by John Green since it’s been quite a while since I’ve read it. I’m a big fan of John Green’s books, and I own almost all of them. I’m hoping after I read this book, I might find the movie on the plane and watch it. No, I still have not seen the movie and it’s been a year or more. I’ll get on it!

2. Read a book that takes place in a different country.

I chose the book The Great Train Robbery Michael Crichton. The setting of this book is in England, one of my favorite countries for book settings. This book I believe was also in my Top 5 Wednesdays, and that shows how excited I am to pick this book up. It’s very different from the books I usually read, but I wanted to give it a try because the synopsis just drew me in.

3.Read a timeless classic that will stay in your heart no matter where you are in the world.

I own so many Classics so this was hard to narrow down, but I decided to go with A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. This book has been raved about by my English Teacher, and always appears in so many English classes and readings, so I thought why not read it for fun to begin with! Also, I adore Charles Dickens’ writing, and I’m thrilled to jump in to his other novels.

4.Read a book you’ve been meaning to read, but keep putting off.

I’ve owned If I Stay by Gayle Forman for quite some time, and it’s probably one of my favorite movies of all time, so I just have to read it this summer. I can’t put it off anymore.I want to experience the characters and finally pick up one of Gayle Forman’s books, which I’ve also wanted to do for a long time. I have heard mixed reviews about this book, so I’m a little nervous, but I can’t say anything until I’ve read it.

5.Read a book with a heart stopping romance.

Any one of  Nicholas Sparks’ novels have heart stopping romances, so of course I had to go with one of his books. I actually just went to a Book Sale at my local library on Saturday, and all the books there were 25 cents, and I happened to find 4 or 5 of his books. If you know me at all, of course I picked up all of them. Back to this challenge, I chose the book Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks because the premise of this book is so cute and romantic, I just had to pick it. Me being a hopeless romantic thought that this book would have a very heart felt romance in it, and I’m sure it will be something I love.

6.Read a book that takes place in the location you’re traveling to, or wish to travel to. (City, State, Country, etc.)

This book was another one of my Library Sale finds, and it’s called Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. This book is actually a Non-Fiction memoir, and I don’t really tend to read those type of books, however, this one just sounded so intriguing, and it has to do with travel and finding oneself. I’m not sure, something about it just drew me in, and the cover is absolutely breath taking. This book actually takes place in three countries: Italy, India, and Bali. India is the country I’m going to, so it fit in that way.

7. Read a book by your favorite author.

My favorite author is Nicholas Sparks. I know, I know, a big shocker there! The book I chose by him for this challenge is The Choice. The synopsis for this reminds me of a very girl next door kind of vibe, and it seemed lighter than his other books, and I wanted to add a lighter read to my mix, so I chose this one.

8.Read a fairy tale retelling or spin off.

The book I chose for this challenge is not a very well known, exact kind of fairy tale retelling. I chose it more because there’s a quote that relates it to a Southern Cinderella book, so I thought I would use it for this challenge. It’s called Salting Roses by Lorelle Marinello, and sorry if this is wrong, but it really sounds like a mix between a Jane Austen Book, and a Southern Fairytale mixed into a book. I’m not really sure, but I’m excited to give it a try!

9.Read a book that you solely want to read based on it’s cover or synopsis on the book.

The book I’m going to read for this challenge is called Brooklyn by Colm Toibin. This book’s cover is something that is elegant and charming to me.The girl on the cover, her outfit is quaint and very unique, and the background is in Brooklyn, and that is always a wonderful scene. Not just that, but even the synopsis sounds so interesting. It takes place around WWII and consists of Italian family and a girl who has moved to the US from a different country. I’m hooked, and can’t wait to get my hands on it!

10.Read any book you want to read before summer is over.

Lat, but not least, the book I want to read before summer is over is Along For the Ride by Sarah Dessen. This author is my Queen. Her books are so cute, wonderful, and reminds me what summer is all about. This book particularly has a very cute romance, and almost a self discovering book that consists of trying new things, and living life. I love books like that, and I love Sarah Dessen, so I’m hoping I will love this book!

That’s a wrap! These are all the books I’m going to read for this challenge! My Summer TBR in general I think is going to consist of these books, the books on my Top 5 Wednesday for Summer, and the rest is just going to be finishing up review books that I’ve been sent, and/or reading whatever I feel like. I don’t want to force myself to read anything more, because I already have quite the list. Hope you enjoyed, and I will try to be posting a review of the book I’m reading soon when I finish it, and will have a review for the book The Blue by Lucy Clarke. out on May 24, 2016 when the book is released. Have a lovely rest of your day!

 

Leave a Reply

