Season of Salt and Honey Book Review

Book: Season of Salt and Honey

Release date: September 1, 2015
 Pages: 352
Publisher: Touchstone Publishing
Source: Publisher – Review Copy

Summary: Francesca ‘Frankie’ Caputo has it all figured out. She’s finally going to marry the man she loves and then they will live happily ever after. But when a freak accident cuts her fiancé Alex’s life tragically short, all of Frankie’s future plans suddenly disintegrate.

Drowning in grief, Frankie flees from her overbearing Italian-American family, and escapes to an abandoned cabin owned by Alex’s parents in a remote part of Washington forest.

As her heart slowly begins to heal, Frankie discovers a freedom that’s both exhilarating and unsettling to everything she has always known for sure. So when her old life comes crashing back in, Frankie must decide: will she slip quietly back into her safe, former existence? Or will a stronger, wiser Frankie Caputo stand up and claim her new life?

 

*****
 My Thoughts: I requested this book to review because I fell in love with the beauty of this cover. The synopsis was slightly intriguing, but I definitely wanted this cover in my hands. This book is truly a roller coaster of emotions and surprises. At first it took me some time to warm up to this book because it was not really slow, but not something I could comprehend all at once. About half way I knew it was just perfection. The writing was smooth and help meaning and weight. The characters were all people who were realistic, and I could relate to. I loved Frankie’s Italian family, because in that I saw my own family, who are Indian, and loud, but full of so much love. I think my favorite part was the twists and turns that occurred and built throughout the book. I was shocked when certain situations unfolded, but I loved every second of it. I could feel the ache of Frankie in my own heart, and just the life and spirit this book contained. The setting being Seattle, is just more I had in common with this novel. I really felt that I was Frankie, and I went through her journey of self discovery and truth with her. The life she had with her boyfriend was something I thought would come off as cliche, but didn’t. I enjoyed learning about the past while she was in the present The blending of the times were done flawlessly, and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to read an almost coming of age book, but for an adult’s p.o.v. I rated this a 5/5 stars on Goodreads as well.
I would like to thank Touchstone  for sending me a copy of this book, it is highly appreciated!
Writing: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Plot: 10/10
Ending: 9/10
Originality: 9/10
Overall: 48/50
Cover: 10/10
Leave a Reply

