Milk and Honey Poetry Book Review

Book: Milk and Honey

Release date: November 4, 2014
 Pages: 194
Publisher: Andrew McMeel Publishing
Source: Publisher – Review Copy

Summary: ‘milk and honey’ is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. ‘milk and honey’ takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

*****
My Thoughts: For anyone who doesn’t know me, I’ve had a passion for poetry for a long time. I’ve written quite a lot of it, and I wanted to get into reading it as well. Milk and Honey has such heart wrenching, relatable poems that rip your heart out and sews it back together again. The aspect of feminism is strong, and the way that readers can connect to these poems are so absurdly realistic and relatable that it makes me feel emotional. This was a quick read, but going through it I felt a great deal of emotion and connection because the thoughts and ideas that this poetry book holds are my values, and are some of my opinions and thoughts of the world, and it by far the best book of poetry I have read to date. I would definitely recommend if you’re looking for a book of poetry to begin with.
I would like to thank Andrew McMeel  for sending me a copy of this book, it is highly appreciated!
Writing: 10/10
Characters: NA/10
Plot: NA/10
Ending: NA/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 20/20
Cover: 9/10
Leave a Reply

