The Guardian Book Review

Book: The Guardian

Release date: April 1, 2005
 Pages: 336
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Source: Library Sale
Summary:
Julie Barenson’s young husband left her two unexpected gifts before he died: a Great Dane puppy named Singer and the promise that he would always be watching over her. Now, four years have passed. Still living in the small town of Swansboro, North Carolina, 29-year-old Julie is emotionally ready to make a commitment to someone again. But who? Should it be Richard Franklin, the handsome, sophisticated engineer who treats her like a queen? Or Mike Harris, the down-to-earth nice guy who was her husband’s best friend? Choosing one of them should bring her more happiness than she’s had in years. Instead, Julie is soon fighting for her life in a nightmare spawned by a chilling deception and jealousy so poisonous that it has become a murderous desire

 

*****
 My Thoughts:
I was actually super excited to pick this book up, because it’s a Nicholas Sparks’ book, and I was for sure thought I was going to fall in love with it. Although it’s not one of my favorite of his books, it was different, and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The plot was not given away by the premise, and it was very shocking at times. The twists and turns in this book were things I never even saw coming. Some of the characters fell flat for me, being as they weren’t the main characters, but I wanted a little more depth  to them. The writing itself never fails to excite me, because the language choices and usage just matches the tone and feeling that this book gives you. The plot freaked me out a little. I had read a book that had a similar premise, although of course this one was much better. Overall, I really think there were a lot of great qualities of this book, even though it wasn’t something I expected. It’s just not something that blew my mind, but an intriguing read nonetheless.
Writing: 10/10
Characters: 8/10
Plot: 8/10
Ending: 9/10
Originality: 9/10
Overall: 44/50
Cover: 8/10
Leave a Reply

