Forever and Forever: The Courtship of Henry Longfellow and Fanny Appleton Book Review

Book: Forever and Forever: The Courtship of Henry Longfellow and Fanny Appleton

Release date: April 5, 2016
 Pages: 336
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Source: Publisher- Review Copy
Summary:
It’s 1836, and nineteen-year-old Fanny Appleton, a privileged daughter of a wealthy, upper-class Boston industrialist, is touring Europe with her family. Like many girls of her day, she enjoys the fine clothes, food, and company of the elite social circles. But unlike her peers, Fanny is also drawn to education, literature, and more intellectual pursuits.
Published author and poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow is also touring Europe, but under much different circumstances. Widowed while on tour, he has stayed in order to gather credentials that he hopes will secure his professorship at Harvard College. When Henry meets Fanny, he sees in her a kindred spirit, a lover of language and literature and high ideals. He is in love. Fanny, however, is uncertain. He is ten years older than she is, and from a much lower social class. How could such a relationship ever thrive?
Could a book of Henry’s poetry, personally delivered, persuade Fanny to believe in a love that lasts forever and forever?

 

*****
 My Thoughts:
In all honesty, this was a book I was hesitant to pick up, and I’m not really sure why. It’s a historical romance, which I do love to read, but for whatever reason it seemed intimidating. However, once I picked this book up, I couldn’t put it down until the very end. The characters and the the plot captivated my attention through the whole thing. I loved how witty and joyful some characters were, and I could feel that they had so much depth to them. This is a book, that is the first in a while to make me cry. I could emotionally and mentally relate to Henry Longfellow, and I could personally feel his despair, loneliness, and sadness come out and touch me. This book is not just a historical romance, but it deals with family relationships and how to deal with loss. I think that the author did a splendid job portraying that because the connection  between Fanny and her sister replicated me and my own sister. The imagery and the adventure of the travels of the characters was breathtaking. Understanding the culture and aspects of different countries in Europe was just so magical. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves historical romance, or wants to read a book that gives off a Pride and Prejudice vibe, but more in a YA way. I absolutely adored this book, and gave it a 5 out of 5 on Goodeads!
Thank you to the Publisher Shadow Mountain for sending me this book, I’m thankful for the opportunity!
Writing: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Plot: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 50/50
Cover: 9/10
Leave a Reply

