99 Days Book Review

Book: 99 Days

Release date: April 21, 2015
 Pages: 284
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Source: Publisher- Review Copy
Summary:
Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

 

*****
 My Thoughts:
I was so excited when I received this book in the mail that I literally finished it in one day. I haven’t read like that in a long time, and it was so satisfying to do, let me tell you. Moving on to the actual content of the book. I really enjoyed the writing style the author used and the development of the characters. I was never really sure how the end would turn out to be, and I liked not knowing. The end itself was something I was surprised with, but also very happy with at the same time. For a contemporary novel, I loved the innocence, yet deep situations the author brought front. The issue of double standards is core, and something that I appreciated seeing in a book. There were moments that I definitely didn’t understand why some characters did what they did. I could actually relate to the main character at times, but others, it was hard to. It switched on and off for me on that perspective. My favorite part was probably the really small, genuine moments that were brought up that made you think, “I want a relationship like that.” I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good contemporary romance!
Writing: 10/10
Characters: 8/10
Plot: 9/10
Ending: 10/10
Originality: 9/10
Overall: 46/50
Cover: 10/10
Leave a Reply

