Pride and Prejudice Book Review

Book: Pride and Prejudice

Release date: October 10, 2000
 Pages: 279
Publisher: Modern Library
Source: Library Book Sale
Summary:
 “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

 

*****
 My Thoughts:
I absolutely adored this book. I had to read this for an ORP for my college class, but it had also been on my reading list, so I was overjoyed for the chance to finally read it. This book really takes you on a journey in the 18th century, and makes you fall in love with that time period, and the people living in it. The naturalistic imagery of the Pemberley and Rosings property were so detailed, and lovely. Elizabeth was a well rounded, and well constructed character I could personally relate to. The romance between her and her lover is so unique in its charm, hospitality, and directness. It’s not the same lovey dovey fluff that we have nowadays, although I do love those as well. This book is an antique beauty, and one I will definitely cherish for many years. The aspect of bringing humor and chaos into the social standard and classes at that time really elevates the purpose of the book to more than just a historical romance. A reader will learn things about themselves, and the way they treat people through the lives of the Bennet family and friends along the way. My oly very little problems I had with this book consisted of the language. being old English. It takes a certain groove and want to read that language, and it’s a bit hard for me personally to catch on, but it captured the era to a T. The other very slight problem I had was with one of the sisters. I do fully understand why she was made the way she was, but it did not stop her from getting on my nerves sometimes. Although, how could one even be mad. She was also portrayed with such detail and finesse that I can’t really complain. Overall, I love this timely classic, and I would surely recommend this to anyone.
Writing: 9/10
Characters: 9/10
Plot: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 48/50
Cover: 10/10
Leave a Reply

