Peter: The Untold True Story Book Review

Book: Peter: The Untold True Story

Release date: May 4, 2013
 Pages: 220
Publisher: Christopher Mechling
Source: Amazon
Summary:
 Chris Mechling’s new historical novel, Peter, introduces readers to the amazing true story behind the fairy tale of Peter Pan. The book tells the adventures of the real boy who came to London and became a well-known figure more than a hundred years before James Barrie penned his classic. Peter the Wild Boy lived in eighteenth century England, through the reigns of three kings (all named George), and achieved legendary status in his own lifetime. He was not only a popular figure, but also drew intense philosophical and scientific study, and was a subject of interest to literary figures such as Daniel Defoe and Jonathan Swift. Peter retained a youthful appearance throughout his life, and had a joyful, intuitive spirit that was both challenging and infectious. This imaginative dramatization of the life of Peter the Wild Boy captures the joy, innocence and fire of a bright, feral child living in the midst of the Age of Enlightenment. It is narrated by the girl who perhaps knew him best. The epic story of his life, spanning approximately seventy years, navigates a tumultuous and thoughtful period in English history, rich with characters. Peter is a magical, poignant tale full of humor, love, and courage in the face of life’s difficulties. It will make you laugh, cry, dream and remember what it means to be young.
*****
 My Thoughts:
For anyone who knows me, I’m infatuated with fairytales, and my favorite one by far is Peter Pan. So then of course I just knew I had to but this book. I saw the cover and read the synopsis, and now it’s mine. I was slightly hesitant on if I would like it or not because I thought the “real” aspect would take away the magic, but it didn’t, and I couldn’t stop smiling the whole time I was reading. The boy, Peter, is so lively, playful, and silly. He acts just like the mischievous and childish boy he is, whether it’s him dancing or just chasing the children, he’s a likable character, and probably my favorite. The plot of the book is also very interesting and a different approach then what I was expecting, but wonderful nonetheless. Since Peter is discovered in the woods, he acts as a savage boy, and the girl who finds him befriends him. After that, he gets taken to palaces and to see the King, and he carries this joy with him everywhere. Of course being a boy that never really grows up, he has to leave when the King’s children begin to grow up, and they can’t teach Peter to do the same. The very end of the book puts a smile back on my face because it’s one of those endings that alludes to something in the beginning of the book. The part just before that is completely heartbreaking. You really encounter so many emotions in this book. Even being in High School I wished I was back in Elementary. Overall, a wonderful book with a lot of imagery and happiness in it. I would definitely recommend, especially if you’re feeling a bit down, or are in a reading slum. It’s quite a quick read. Just to finish this off, the cover it one of my favorite parts as well. It’s just beautiful!
Writing:
Characters: 10/10
Plot: 9/10
Ending: 10/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 49/50
Cover: 10/10
Leave a Reply

