Equus Book Review

*A Message Before I Begin This Review- The”book” I’m reviewing is in the format of a book, but it’s a play, so if you would  not like to read a play review, you may click out, thank you!*

Book/Play: Equus

Release date: October 2, 1984
 Pages: 112
Publisher: Penguin Books
Source: Amazon
Summary:
In “Equus,” which took critics and public alike by storm and has gone on to become a modern classic, Peter Shaffer depicts the story of a deranged youth who blinds six horses with a spike. Through a psychiatrist’s analysis of the events, Shaffer creates a chilling portrait of how materialism and convenience have killed our capacity for worship and passion and, consequently, our capacity for pain. Rarely has a playwrite created an atmosphere and situation that so harshly pinpoint the spiritual and mental decay of modern man.
*****
 My Thoughts:
I picked this book for an ORP play for my college English Composition class. I really didn’t know much about it, but now that I think about it, the strangeness of the plot is what made it interesting and unique from other books. The names of the characters were a bit confusing, but the writing, and language used was middle grade, and very easy to read. There were times in the book I was confused, but it was only because a boy who worships horses is a bit strange. Behind the surface of the plot though, I learned a lot about society and what people expect and want to be the normal. During the time this book took place, kids with mental illnesses were shunned, and just isolated from everyone. This play dives into what the actual boy must be feeling at this time, and how even a psychiatrist who is trying to help him, finds flaws in his own life through helping this boy. In all honesty, I would have never willingly read this play. It’s far off from what I like to read, but I’m pleasantly surprised how much I did like it. It’s probably not something I would read over and over, but maybe if I see it and it’s been a while, I would pick it up once again.
Writing:
Characters: 9/10
Plot: 10/10
Ending: 8.5/10
Originality: 10/10
Overall: 37.5/50
Cover: 9/10
Leave a Reply

